Holiday Watch list: Games that BETTER be under that Tree

Intro-2b (1)

It’s that time of the year folks! November will be upon us next week, and with it comes a brand new generation of console gaming. No matter what new console you decide to fanboy with, there will be a healthy selection of games to compliment your inner fanboy choice. Even those (like me) whom aren’t diving in head first with the pre order crowd will still have a large list of great games to play over the winter break. Check out our holiday watch list below and share which games you will be picking up this year.

We haven’t had a winter like this for a loooonnngg time.

  1. Battlefield 4

    Status: Preordered on the Xbox 360. Plan on doing the upgrade thingy for the Xbox One.

    Thoughts: The fact that it has “Battlefield” in the title pretty much makes this game a requirement for me. I most likely won’t touch conquest until I can play this game on the Xbox One, but the beta showed me that there is still fun to be had on the Xbox 360 (and PS3). Expect a lot of Domination, Rush, and Obliteration uploads when this game is released next week.

  2. Call of Duty: Ghosts

    Status: I will probably get this before November is over. I want to see some YouTube footage before making my final decision.

    Thoughts: COD: Ghosts is Infinity Wards last shot with me. This game has to be good. Not perfect, but GOOD. I will admit that I like a lot of the things I’ve seen thus far. I think I’ve laughed at every feature they have bragged about (Squads, Girls in the game, Dogs, Fish moving) and loved every feature they have barely talked about.

  3. Batman: Arkham Origins

    Status: I’m on the fence. Not preordered.

    Thoughts: I don’t know how I feel about the tacked on multiplayer. Then add on the fact that these aren’t the same creators of the first two. I have liked a lot of the things I’ve seen up to know, but generally when a single player game gets multiplayer….it sucks. Still, this IS Batman we are talking about.

  4. Killzone: Shadow Fall

    Status: Skeptical but hopeful. Preordered.

    Thoughts: Has Sony finally managed to get a 1st party shooter with great shooting mechanics? Probably not, but it does look really pretty. That’s a good start. I’ve also heard good things about the PS4 controller. That’s always been a complaint I’ve had since the original PlayStation. Unfortunately, they haven’t changed the stick placement which was my complaint. I’m not saying that they are in a bad place, but every time I use one my thumbs touch…

  5. Ryse: Son of Rome

    Status: Skeptical but VERY hopeful. Not preorded.

    Thoughts: Has Microsoft finally managed to make a great God of War clone? Hell no, but this game does still look like fun. I’m not very convinced by the multiplayer I’ve seen so far, but it does look like it may be a fun game. It graphically looks gorgeous, and the improvements they have made to the gameplay looks great. Still, I’m not sure if this is worth a full price investment. Right now I’m thinking this game will be PERFECT…for $25.

  6. Killer Instinct

    Status: I will get it the day I own an Xbox One.

    Thoughts: Ulllllttttttrrrraaaa COOOOOMMMMMMBBBBBOOOOO!!!!

  7. Borderlands 2

    Status: Don’t laugh at me….

    Thoughts: I was planning on picking this up when it came out, but life got in the way. I imagine I will find a great deal on it thanks to the delay though.

  8. Knack

    Status: Very curious…but not preordered.

    Thoughts: It’s caught my eye. Looks like it will supply hours of fun, but I’m thinking this will be a bargain bin game for me. Not that it won’t be great, but I already have a lot on my plate as is.

    This is our list for now. Will you be picking up any of these games? What’s your list?

    This is looking like another great year to be a gamer.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Thoughts?

