Grand Theft Auto V – Frustratingly Great

gta55

Let me start off by saying this…I had to look up how to spell frustratingly.  It was….frustrating.

We generally don’t do reviews here at weRgamerz.  I have been hoping to change that, but currently I (Wes) am the only one blogging on here.  Considering that I have a life and a short attention span, I don’t think I am qualified to give a full written review.  We do plan on releasing a GTA V impressions video this week, but there are a few things I wanted to share here on the blog.  So I guess this is like a written impressions post thingy.

Ok!  That’s out of the way.  Let’s talk about good ole GTA 5.  The game was great.  I didn’t experience any game breaking glitches, the heist were amazing to say the least, and even after beating the main story I feel like I have a million things to do.  This game was easily worth the 59.99 I spent on it, and I recommend it to anyone who hasn’t picked it up yet.  A lot of people are yelling out “Game of the Year”, and they might just be right.  As a full time Xbox gamer I still feel that Last of Us has the strongest story featured in any game I’ve ever experienced in my life, but GTA V has scope.  It has a “good” story.  Not mind blowing, but good.  It also has racing, real estate, tennis, a stock market, car customization, triathlons, tanks, helicopters, planes, boats, and you get the point.

Of course it hasn’t been all good in Los Santos.  Not for me anyway.  There are some things in this game that I don’t like.  Since this isn’t really a “review” I will just list the top things that frustrate me while playing Grand Theft Auto 5.

  • The Fing Stock Market – I almost feel like I’ve been lied to.  Do you guys know how much time I wasted blowing up various cars in the name of stock manipulation?  I can’t tell you how stupid I felt when I invested all my money into Burgershoot (I think that’s what it’s called) while their price was super low.  The plan was to pull off a full assault on Up-n-Atom, but when I FINALLY found an Up-n-Atom drive through I found out I couldn’t go inside of it.  Up until the release of the game there was a lot of talk about manipulating the markets.  Excluding a few small victories, I have NOT been able to do that.  The only time it has worked for me is with the Lester missions.  There was a couple of times that the market worked in my favor when I destroyed some Up-n-Atom trucks on the interstate, but I can’t reliably repeat those results.  Life is hard for a criminal…
  • Dude Where’s My Car – I thought I was alone in this one, but I’ve read that this is a known glitch.  I had to very sexy vehicles parked in my garage.  After the final heist in the game, I woke up to find both of my cars had vanished.  I check impound to be safe, but they weren’t there.  Sure, I can just make the cars again……but it just won’t be the same.  Those cars had names…you can’t just take my babies.
  • Not Enough “Paid” Heist – The missions during the campaign were awesome.  I liked all of them.  I just didn’t like not getting paid.  They give you that little taste of money with the first heist, but it feels like forever for the second one.  There’s only one more after that.  I HATE the FIB.
  • I’m not Attached – It is very hard to care about Franklin, Michael, and Trevor when I know that I will be making WesdaRuler in two weeks.  I don’t care about getting Franklin out the hood.  I could care less about Michael’s dysfunctional family….Trevor is pretty awesome though.  My point is, I know that starting Oct 1st it will be very hard to get me back on the single player.  There are 500 missions when the game comes out.  I will be able to play these missions with friends using a character I created.  I much rather dedicate time earning money and boosting stats in the online world.  What’s the point of purple rims on a candy painted whip if none of your friends can seem them?
Now please understand that I love this game.  Rockstar has created my favorite game of this console generation to be honest, but nothing is perfect in life. 
How are you liking the game so far?  Is it everything you wanted it to be?
Let us know your thoughts!
Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Grand Theft Auto V – Frustratingly Great

  1. […] Every in-game activity seems to earn you reputation and cash – That is the complete opposite of how things work in Grand Theft Auto 5 single player.  This pleases me greatly.  I complained about this in my last GTA 5 post. […]

Thoughts?

