The Holidays are Coming…A Gamerz Dilemma

Next Gen

It has been a looonnngg time since I’ve had a holiday season like this.  It’s hard enough picking out the two or three games I want for Christmas, but I have some major thinking to do this time around.  Our next generation consoles are coming in a couple of months, and with them a few games that I NEED in my life (I’m looking at you Killer Instinct!).  Now before I go any further I have to admit that I already have my Xbox One on pre-order.  I pre-ordered my day one version the first day I was able to, but even though I am definitely picking up my newness this November I question how much I’ll actually use it.

Now lets get one thing clear….I WILL play Killer Instinct.  My Xbox One will certainly see action all the way through to the rest of this year, but it will not be the same as it has been in previous generation jumps.  For starters, current gen consoles are still getting games that I want to play.  I’ll even be more specific and say that my gaming life will still be dedicated to Grand Theft Auto V and Grand Theft Auto Online.  This game will still be fresh, new, exciting, fun, and only available on current gen consoles.  To add more doubt to my situation, most games I want for my Xbox One will be available for my Xbox 360.  The only exception to that rule being Battlefield 4 cause lets be honest, BF4 on current vs. next will not be the same.  So, with all my free time being thrown at GTA Online how the hell am I supposed to find time for an ULLLTRAAA COMBOOOOO!!!!!?  This isn’t even the whole of it.  All of my friends are waiting to buy the new consoles.  I don’t know of one person I regularly play with that has pre-ordered the newness.  This is a problem.  A while back I wrote a post on how gaming online with my buddies is my “man time.”  This is how I hang with the fellas.  If I decided to play the Xbox One, I will automatically miss out on half of the reason I play games.  This is a very new problem for me, and I’m assuming most other console players as well.  I can’t think of another console generation where online communities played a key role in the gaming experience.  The jump from the original Xbox to the Xbox 360 was simple.  Xbox Live wasn’t a big deal here.  Just about every game made these days has some form of online multiplayer.  The ones that don’t are never as popular as the ones that do.  I tend not to own a large collection of games.  I try to focus on games that I can play with friends.  Add in Xbox parties, the friend list, etc etc.  I have no friends on the Xbox One…….and that’s sad.

My last issue with this holiday season might be the one that hurts the most.  The best games that they have shown so far (in my opinion of course) aren’t even coming out this year.  I’m excited to play Titanfall…..spring 2014.  Destiny is going to be AMAZING…..summer 2014.  The Division might be the game I’ve dreamed of playing…..winter 2014.  Have I made my point?  Battlefield 4 is the only game I’m truly anticipating.  Sure, there are other decent looking games coming.  Ryse looks pretty cool.  Project Spark looks like a blast….but not a “I gots to have this one day one” kind of blast.  To keep it blunt, none of these games have shown me why I should stop playing GTA Online to take time out to play them instead.  Matter of fact, GTA Online has made me rethink what I should expect from a next generation game period.  That’s deep.

What’s a gamer like me to do?  I want the newness.  I’ve always been that way.  With the exception of early childhood systems “SEGA!!!!” I never hold on to last generation hardware.  I jump on to the latest and greatest and never look back, but this time it’s different.  There are a lot of things to consider.  Maybe I need to learn to be more patient….or maybe I just need some new friends.  Either way I have a lot of thinking to do over the next few months….sadly I will not have time to do that thinking.  I will be to busy robbing banks and manipulating the stock market in Grand Theft Auto….it’s a tough life for a gamer.

Console gaming has come a long way since my Sega Genesis days……

Thoughts?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Thoughts?

